Connect with us


List of those who died in plane crash with COAS emerges



List of those who died in plane crash with COAS emerges

President Muhammadu Buhari has mourned the passage of the Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant General Ibrahim Attahiru.

The Army Chief died in a plane crash on Friday in Kaduna along with 10 others.

Buhari on Friday received briefing from the Minister of Defence, retired Major General Bashir Magashi, on the plane crash that claimed the lives of the military officers at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The Minister was accompanied by the Chief of Defence Staff, Generak LEO Irabor; Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshall Isiaka Amao; and other senior officers.

Sunday Aghaeze, Personal Photographer to the President (Presidency), confirmed this in pictorial reports on Friday evening in Abuja.

NAN, however, gathered that the minister and the service chiefs also used the opportunity to condole with the President over the demise of Attahiru and other military officers, who were killed in the Nigerian Air Force plane crash in Kaduna.

The Nigerian Army had earlier on Friday announced the death of Attahiru and 10 others in an ill-fated NAF aircraft near Kaduna International Airport on Friday.

The Director, Army Public Relations, Brigadier General Mohammed Yerima, who did not disclose the names of the other victims, said the plane was en route Kaduna from Abuja when it crash.

Late Attahiru born on August 10, 1966 in Doka, Kaduna North Local Government Area, Kaduna State, graduated from the Nigerian Defence Academy and was appointed Chief of Army Staff on January 26, 2021.

Those on board the flight:

Lieutenant General Ibrahim Attahiru

Brigadier General MI Abdulkadir

Brigadier General Olayinka

Brigadier General Kuliya

Major LA Hayat

Major Hamza
Sergeant Umar

Flight Lieutenant TO Asaniyi

Flight Lieutenant AA Olufade

Sergeant Adesina

ACM Oyedepo.