Connect with us


BREAKING: Buhari partially relaxes lockdown in FCT, Lagos, Ogun, bans social gatherings



President Muhammadu Buhari-led administration has rejected the recent poor rating of Nigeria in its anti-corruption campaign by Transparency International (TI).
Nigerian President, Muhammadu Buhari

Nigerian President, Muhammadu Buhari, has partially relaxed the COVID-19 lockdown in the federal capital territory, Lagos and Ogun States, from Monday 4th May, 2020, THE WITNESS reports.

The president who disclosed this in his broadcast to the nation on Monday, however banned social gatherings.

“In line with the recommendations of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19, the various Federal Government committees that have reviewed socio-economic matters and the Nigeria Governors Forum, I have approved a phased and gradual easing of lockdown measures in FCT, Lagos and Ogun States effective from Monday, 4th May, 2020.

“However, this will be followed strictly with aggressive reinforcement of testing and contact tracing measures while allowing the restoration of some economic and business activities in certain sectors.

“Furthermore, new nationwide measures are to be introduced as follows:
a. There will be an overnight curfew from 8pm to 6am. This means all movements will be prohibited during this period except for essential services;
b. There will be a ban on non-essential inter-state passenger travel until further notice;
c. Partial and controlled interstate movement of goods and services will be allowed for the movement of goods and services from producers to consumers; and
d. We will strictly ensure the mandatory use of face masks or coverings in public in addition to maintaining physical distancing and personal hygiene. Furthermore, the restrictions on social and religious gatherings shall remain in place. State Governments, corporate organisations and philanthropists are encouraged to support the production of cloth masks for citizens.

“For the avoidance of doubt, the lockdown in the FCT, Lagos and Ogun States shall remain in place until these new ones come into effect on Monday, 4th May 2020.

President Buhari had ordered the restriction of movements in the affected states which are the hardest hit by the coronavirus in the country, for four weeks. The four weeks elapses today, Monday, April 27, 2020.

Nigeria’s tally of confirmed COVID-19 cases rose to 1273 on Sunday from 1182 reported on Saturday evening by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC).

NCDC in a tweet Sunday night said that 91 new cases were reported in 16 states. These are Lagos, Sokoto, Taraba, Kaduna, Gombe, Ondo, Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Edo, Oyo, Rivers, Bauchi, Osun, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Ebonyi and Kebbi.

A breakdown of the latest update shows that 43 of the new cases were reported in Lagos, eight in Sokoto, Taraba – six, Kaduna and Gombe – five, Ondo, FCT, Edo, Rivers Bauchi and Oyo – three, Osun – two, while Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Ebonyi, and Kebbi have one case apiece.

Lagos remains the epicentre for the outbreak in Nigeria, Three states – Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Taraba and Kebbi – reported their first cases of the infection on Sunday.


More to come…