Home POLITICS APC sweeps Oyo LG poll as other parties kick

APC sweeps Oyo LG poll as other parties kick


The All Progressives Congress has won all the chairmanship seats in the 33 local government councils and the 35 Local Council Development Areas in the state.

The party also won the councillorship seats in the 610 wards in the state in the local government election held on Saturday.

Announcing the results in Ibadan on Sunday, John Ajeigbe, the Chairman of Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission, described the election as free, fair and credible.

Ajeigbe commended residents of the state for conducting themselves in an orderly manner and for complying with rules and regulations during the exercise.

He said: “It is hoped that this kind of maturity exhibited before and during the conduct of the election will be sustained so that good democratic values would be further achieved at the grassroots.”

He also lauded security operatives for their support, saying this ensured safety of lives and property during the election period.
But Sunday Igbinsola, the Secretary of Accord party in the state, described the election “as a show of shame”.

Igbinsola said many stakeholders within even the ruling APC had distanced themselves from the exercise.

He said: “I will simply say here that the election was a failure and the APC government will definitely return tax payers money when it is time to answer questions.”

The Socialist Party of Nigeria in the state described the poll as “stage-managed fraud”.

According to Kolapo Oladapo, the Chairman of SPN, the name and logo of his party appeared on the ballot papers inspite of the candidate being denied nomination form.

“This is a monumental fraud against our party and every one that believes in open democratic process,” Oladapo said.

NAN reports that the only female contender, Fatimoh Gildado (APC), won the championship seat of Orire North LCDA with 5,787 votes.

Olajuwon Alao-Akala, a son of a former Governor of Oyo State, Adebayo Alao-Akala, also won the chairmanship seat of Ogbomoso Local Government Council with 9,026 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here